Short Current Affairs MCQs Information About Country India Area Population Boundries Religions Political System Government Structure Sports Economy

profile india
Capital: New Delhi
Prime minister: Narendra Modi
President: Pranab Mukherjee
National anthem: Jana Gana Mana
Official languages: Hindi, English
Largest city    ------------------------ Mumbai
Official language---------------------HindI, English
Government-------------------------- Federal parliamentary
                                                           constitutional republic

Legislature--------------------------- Sansad
Upper House-------------------------- Rajya Sabha
Lower House --------------------------Lok Sabha
Independence--------------------------15 August 1947 
Republic--------------------------------26 January 1950 
Area-------------------------------------3,287,263 km2
                                                        1,269,219 sq mi 

Currency--------------------------------Indian rupee

Bounded by the
Indian Ocean on the south
the Arabian Sea on the southwest
the Bay of Bengal on the southeast
land borders with Pakistan to the west
Bhutan, the People's Republic of China and Nepal to the northeast
Bangladesh and Burma to the east.

Major Religions:Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism and Sikhism,Zoroastrianism, Christianity and Islam

Politics System
Democracy System in India.
Main Political Parties Indian National Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and more than 40 regional parties.
The Congress is considered centre-left or "liberal" in Indian political culture, and the BJP centre-right or "conservative".
In  1950 – when India first became a

Government Structure

India has parliamentary system governed under the Constitution of India
The Constitution of India, which came into effect on 26 January 1950 states in its preamble that India is a sovereign, socialist, secular, democratic republic.
The federal government is composed of three branches:
The President of India is the head of state elected indirectly by an electoral college for a five-year term.
The Prime Minister of India is the head of government and exercises most executive power Appointed by the president, the prime minister is by convention supported by the party or political alliance holding the majority of seats in the lower house of parliament.
Legislative: The legislature of India is the bicameral parliament,comprising the upper house called the Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and the lower called the Lok Sabha (House of People). The Rajya Sabha, a permanent body, has 245 members serving staggered six year terms. Most are elected indirectly by the state and territorial legislatures, their numbers in proportion to their state's population All but two of the Lok Sabha's 545 members are directly elected by popular vote to represent individual constituencies for five-year terms. The remaining two members are nominated by the president from among the Anglo-Indian community, in case the president decides that the community is not adequately represented.
Judicial: India has a unitary three-tier judiciary, consisting of the Supreme Court, headed by the Chief Justice of India, 21 High Courts, and a large number of trial courts.

The Bombay Stock Exchange is Asia's oldest and India's largest stock exchange by market capitalization.


India's official national sport is field hockey, administered by Hockey India. The Indian hockey team won the 1975 Hockey World Cup. India cricket team won the 1983 and the 2011 World Cups, 2007 ICC World Twenty20, and shared the 2002 IC Champions Trophy with Sri Lanka. Administrative Divisions