General KNowledge of SAARC

saarc countries
The South Asian Association for Regional (SAARC)

SAARC Stands for
(South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation)
 which was established on 8 December 1985

To promote the welfare of the peoples of SOUTH ASIA.
To accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region.
To cooperate with international and regional organisations. 
To strengthen cooperation with other developing countries.

The SAARC Secretariat was established in Kathmandu on 16 January 1987 and was inaugurated by Late King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah of Nepal.

Total 8 members 
Sri Lanka, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, are its founder members and Bangladesh. Afghanistan joined the organization in 2007